Levithan and the Language of Love

I have been lusting over David Levithan’s “A Lover’s Dictionary” for months now. Last summer I found one hidden in a shelf of a three-floor bookstore. I really wanted to get it as my summer reading but I felt too guilty when I looked at the tag price. Heck, I never spent too much on a book.  And I don’t think I ever will. I just hoped we meet again when it’s already pegged at 50% off.

With all sadness, I followed Levithan’s Twitter instead.  I took delight in his posts like they were real dictionary entries – only shorter, but still beautifully romanticized. I have mentioned this fondness to the boyfriend. We usually spend a while scrolling up and down Levithan’s Twitter every weekend to pick out our favorite entry.

I don’t know what has gotten into the boyfriend’s mind last Monday. I was getting crazy at work compiling pictures from the recent photoshoot and preparing for a report and meeting that afternoon. He gladly volunteered to be the driver and assistant to the busy bee me. We had snacks on the way to the other office when he showed me the book. Boy! I was more than happy! I had this stupid smile on my face and my feet were on tiptoes the whole time.

It was a big good luck for the meeting/report. It really turned out good.

And Levithan came with a baby mohawk zebra

Dinner at one of my favorite restaurants marked a celebration of my happiness. He brought me home afterwards.

I started reading as soon as I got home. And have I mentioned he defined me too?

I am a noun defined in 10 lines

3 thoughts on “Levithan and the Language of Love

  1. DC! says:

    I don’t know if this is supposed to be a secret but when O asked me what to give you for Christmas, I actually suggested this but he told me you said you didn’t want a book for Christmas:p So, partial credit? Lolz hahaha miss you!

Leave a Reply

