Zambales 2010

There hasn’t been so many interesting stories in my life lately. Well, actually there are, but I am yet to disclose until the right time comes.

I haven’t been writing for a time, too. I got pending writing/blog ideas but never really had the time, even for drafts. Work has got me preoccupied with a lot of things and I assume that will go on for the next few months. This taxing and tedious time at work just makes me want to run away to an unknown place.

I was having some spring cleaning last weekend and found photos of travels long ago. I am sharing this trip to Zambales circa 2010 as it reminds me of the first adult out of town trip I had with my sister and all other memories and emotions in between. This was back when working was such lovely labor.

***

Casa San Miguel, an art sanctuary in San Antonio, Zambales.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We were there just in time for the Pundaquit festival. These kids were practicing for their performances.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They made beautiful music.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Works by Leeroy New were scattered all over the place. My sister thought they’re creepy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Found these tiles too. I love how they reflect music and art and madness and passion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Speaking with/interviewing the artist, Brendale Tadeo. Yes, we traveled far and wide for this interview.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Gallery inside Casa San Miguel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brendale Tadeo’s Machinas on exhibit. This was later transferred and exhibited at NOVA Gallery.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back in my gallery days, I was always interested about how the works were lighted. This explains this photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Studying and looking at Brendale’s work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And asking him some more questions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We spent the afternoon at the beach. Baybay, as locals would call it. Breathtaking sunset.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brendale again, he asked us to call him Tadz instead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sister, enjoying the water but trying not to get wet

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But ended up getting soaking wet anyway (HAHAHA!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then, there were kids. Perky and happy, playing in the sand and posing for the camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day, we searched into their backroom where old paintings and sculptures were stored. Here are works from their weekend children’s workshop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plet Bolipata’s then work in progress. I believe she filled this animals with tiles and had them displayed in BGC years after.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

Good old days, Zambales.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

