The Week I Cried the Most

I used to think days have their own way of turning things upside down and inside out. Interestingly, I never seen a week, a month, or a year that way.

June is one of my favorite months. Birthdays are celebrated here and there, including the boyfriend’s. It’s when you celebrate Independence Day and get free train rides during rush hour. It’s when I allot all my hoarded vacation leaves at work so I could get myself to the beach. Summer’s last hurrah, yes. This time however, the week I thought would be of sheer bliss, turned out otherwise.

Pardon me, I will have to overshare.

  • My boyfriend and I caught The Fault in our Stars in cinemas. I rarely read nowadays since books are forbidden in our workplace but The Fault in our Stars didn’t prevent me in reading and bawling in my cubicle. The movie was how I expected it to be, nothing better compared to the book as some details were left out. I do however shed tears at the scene where Hazel and Isaac were to read their eulogies to Gus. I’m a sucker for beautiful words and I can only imagine how much beautiful yet painful it could be to offer them to one’s existence and absence. Well, at least I no longer gasped for breath in the theater like the girl who sat a seat apart from me.
  • Mocha passed away. We spent several days in Palawan for the boyfriend’s birthday. Before we left, I spoke to our bunnies to behave and not cause headache to my parents. (Though I asked them to make cuter and paawa faces to my sister and parents whenever they want to play outside). We were on the way home from our Underground River trip when we received news that our little baby Mocha passed away that morning. My parents said she had weird bowel movements the day before and was acting drowsy. They thought it was kind of normal since Mocha has the tendency to be passive aggressive at times (you know, lady bunnies). My boyfriend and I cried on the way back to the hotel. Instead of trying out the night life in Puerto Princesa, we spent the night quietly.
Marvelous Mocha, already in full fluff at around 5 months old

Marvelous Mocha, already in full fluff at around 5 months old

  • My iPod drowned. Yes, I cried over that because I get sentimental over photos and videos and memories and lists. Only then have I realized I have a percentage of my life stored in that little dummy thing. Plus, I have Mocha’s and all the other bunnies’ photos there too.
  • My boyfriend and I got into a vehicular accident. I guess I wouldn’t have cried so much for the sake of the accident alone. Well, not until I got a glimpse of my burned leg. We were rushed to the nearest hospital for first aid.  I kept tugging my boyfriend’s arm the entire time they were giving me first aid. I kept asking the nurse what is this and what is that they were applying. I can feel my legs sore then numb then sore again. I never really liked hospitals, mind you, so that was an extra bad memory again. I was on seven days sick leave as the doctors advised that I take rest. On those days, my boyfriend was the one in charge of cleaning the burned area. I cried every time. I bit on shirts and chomped on pillows just to let go of the sting and the pain. I was still a brave girl according to him. I would insist on doing normal things like walking around, playing with pets, and pulling my legs straight when sleeping. I guess I am pretty brave for someone who has low tolerance for pain. I’m no longer posting my leg’s photo because that would be crazy gross oversharing, but it’s already healing.

 

I can still hardly believe that all happened within a week. Well, referring to bullets 2 and 4, the first and third one was just for some extra tear count. Small regrets though, wish I had been there when Mocha was having troubles. I usually have panic attacks so when I see her in a condition that bad, I would have called whoever or have already taken her to the vet.

Also, I would have wanted to turn back time and play the fourth bullet incident in slow motion. However, I am charging this to experience. I will smile and sigh at my battle scars: “Gawd, I’m brave”.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

